Council appoints new leader and cabinet

At its annual meeting on 19 May, Amber Valley Borough Council approved the appointment of its new leader and members of the Cabinet.

Councillor Kevin Buttery was confirmed as Leader of the Council and Cabinet member responsible for Policy. Other Cabinet positions were confirmed as follows.

  • Deputy Leader / Housing and Public Health – Councillor Paul Hillier
  • Regeneration and Community Safety – Councillor Tony Harper
  • Environment – Councillor Trevor Ainsworth
  • Deputy Member for Environment – Councillor Dale Wright
  • Deputy Member for Community Safety – Councillor Sean Carter
  • Deputy Member for Housing and Public Health – Councillor Lorna Tassi

At the same meeting, Councillor David Taylor was elected Mayor of Amber Valley, with his wife Valerie Taylor as Mayoress, for the forthcoming year. Councillor Richard Iliffe was elected Deputy Mayor and his wife, Susan, Deputy Mayoress.

Pictured – new Mayor of Amber Valley, Councillor David Taylor.

Need further help or information?

Contact the team directly on 01773 570222 or email